The Group:


The PI:

Michael grew up in Salisbury, on the eastern shore of Maryland, and received his undergraduate degree from Salisbury University in 2006.  There, he was an undergraduate researcher in Professor Elizabeth Papish’s group where he worked on the synthesis of small molecule-metal complexes designed to mimic metalloenzyme active sites.  He then moved to the University of Delaware, where he pursued his Ph.D. in Professor Joseph Fox's laboratory.  His research in the Fox group focused on the development of new synthetic methods, the total synthesis of natural products, and the development of bio-orthogonal chemistry.  After receiving his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry in 2013, he moved to the United Kingdom to take up a post-doctoral position in the laboratory of Professor Matthew Gaunt at the University of Cambridge, where he was awarded a Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellowship in 2014.  His research at Cambridge primarily focused on the development of a non-classical reactive platform for the selective chemical modification of proteins.  In August of 2017, Michael moved back across the pond to take up his position in the Chemistry Department at the University of Wyoming.  Michael’s research program is underpinned by an interest in developing organic transformations for use at the chemistry-biology interface. During his time at Wyoming, Michael has received an NSF CAREER award, a Thieme Chemistry Journals award, and an NIH outstanding investigator award. 


Career Summary:

August 2017-Present:  Assistant Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Wyoming
2014-2016:  Marie-Curie International Incoming Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Cambridge, U.K.  Advisor:  Matthew J. Gaunt
2012-2017:  Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Cambridge, U.K. Advisor:  Matthew J. Gaunt
2013:  Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry.  University of Delaware, Newark, DE.  Advisor:  Joseph M. Fox
2006:  B.S. in Biochemistry. Salisbury University, Salisbury, MD.  Advisor:  Elizabeth T. Papish

Ph.D. Students

4th year:

Nicholas Kuehl

B.S. 2017 M.S.U. Denver


3rd year:

Akash Sarkar

M.S. 2019 South Dakota 


2nd year:

Norberto Orellana

B.S. 2020 Colorado College 


Undergraduate Students

Joe Ault

Class of 2021


Abby Hamilton

Class of 2022


Group Mascots